Summertime, and the livin’ is easy…

Standard

I’m one of those odd folks who just doesn’t like summer. Blah. I hate sweating and feeling sweaty and getting all sticky and wondering if and when it’ll be socially appropriate to take off my bra.

But, summer’s really the best time to eat and if you love to cook, so much the better. It’s also the time of year when our local tomato season kicks in and we have about 6 weeks to enjoy them before they go away for another year. I could probably eat freshly steamed green beans at every meal for the next two months. And once again I find out that I can’t get enough fresh fruit while it’s still around.

It’s the heat and humidity of a Philadelphia summer that totally wreaks havoc with the things I really like to cook and eat. I love soups and casseroles and stews and breads and all of the cozy meals you can enjoy when it doesn’t feel like 154°F outside. Mid-July is also the time I start drooling over my recipes for polenta lasagna, mushroom barley soup, roasted butternut squash and basically anything that might go well with a bowl of mashed potatoes.

With gravy, of course.

But, we still have to eat during the hot weather, right? Right. And keep it cool, boy…way cool, boy.

“Southeast Asian Fruit Soup”

This comes from the “Moosewood Restaurant New Classics”, and it’s a great one. There’s no cooking involved, just some chopping and blender action.

Just be careful that the ginger and mint are entirely blended into the soup, since both ginger and mint can be pretty fibrous.

Serve it with whatever you’d like. Just make sure it spends a lot of time in the fridge before you serve it.

  • 1 good-sized cantaloupe, seeded and cubed (about 6 or 7 cups)
  • 1 14-oz can of lite or light or reduced fat coconut milk
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp of minced fresh mint
  • 2 Tbsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp pure almond extract
  • generous dash of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • the tiniest pinch of salt ever
  1. Put all of the ingredients into a large bowl, and give it a good stir.
  2. Puree it in batches until it’s smooth.
  3. Chill it for at least 6 hours or overnight.
  4. Enjoy!

I also need to post the recipe for the fruit cobbler I made over the weekend, since it was quite a hit over on Instagram. Tomorrow, I promise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I hate to be sweaty. I told my friend today my favorite summer outdoor activity is going back inside 😉
    I had been trying to figure out your location…. Philly huh. The one place I have gotten myself into trouble before lol….
    Happy cooking. It’s lasagna night here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

