“Sweater Girl”

Standard

About two years ago, I fell in love with a sweater.

And not just any sweater, mind you. It was the Kathy Zimmerman masterpiece on the cover of “Interweave Knits” Winter 2012 edition that I was drooling over. I coveted this sweater. It had everything I always loved in a sweater. It had intricate cables and braids and great Norwegian-like buttons and it looked all nice and warm and cozy and in my romantic imagination it was all I needed to keep me warm as I walked to the local pub on a chilly October Saturday afternoon.

Or, throw on over my Eagles tee shirt and jeans when I run to the store. It didn’t matter, of course. All I knew that this was destined to be “My Sweater” and that once I became a better knitter, I’d knit it.

I don’t have a history of starting out with small projects and working up to the harder ones. When I taught myself how to bake bread when I was 13, the first thing I wanted to make was a batch of croissants, which I eventually did…a month later. They weren’t perfect, but they were pretty damned good for a newbie home baker making croissants in the middle of the summer.

They weren’t that hard. It was just a series of steps that you had to follow and if you did, you ended up with croissants. I made them by hand and I remember kneading the softened butter with my hands in a bowl ice water to remove all of the moisture out of the butter. Then it was wrapped it up with a piece of plastic wrap and knocked it around a bunch of times with a rolling pin to make it pliable before you spread it over the yeast dough. Fold the dough like an envelope, roll and fold it two more times, stick it back in the fridge. And then you did this a couple of more times before you made them and baked them off. And they were delicious.

Not really difficult, if you think about it. Perhaps a little fussy in places, but there wasn’t anything there I knew I couldn’t handle.

This sweater reminds me of this. I read the pattern and it’s just a couple of stitches here, some pattern stitches there, a few cables, pattern stitches, couple of stitches. Look at that; one row done. Go back and do it in reverse and there you are; another row done. Count your stitches to make sure they’re all in place.

Now knit some more and before you know it, you’ll be on your way to a sleeve.

"Plaits and Links" pattern. HiKoo "Kenzie" in Boysenberry

“Plaits and Links” pattern. HiKoo “Kenzie” in Boysenberry

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s sort of like the old metaphorical question. How you eat an elephant? One bite at a time, of course.


So, last Saturday, Paul and I went to do our usual weekly shopping. We were just spent from all ends from my diagnosis and neither of us wanted to spend a lot of time shopping or faffing around anywhere.

We picked up a few peaches and since there was a bag of frozen blueberries in the freezer, I thought a cobbler would be good, especially since there was some strawberry ice cream in the fridge.

Yeah, this is absolutely terrific, but depending on the fruit you use it might end up being so moist and juicy that it becomes a pudding!

And that’s not really a bad thing if it sits in the fridge for a few hours.

Fruit Cobbler

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1 cup of milk (lowfat is fine)
  • 1 cup of light brown sugar (white sugar is fine)
  • 2 tsp. of baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • tsp. of vanilla or almond extract
  • 3-4 cups of fruit (either fresh or frozen)
  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Pour the butter into a 9×9 baking dish.
  3. Add all of the other ingredients into the baking dish, except the fruit. Give it a good stir and smooth it out into the baking dish.
  4. Place the fruit on top of the dough and pop it into the oven. Let it bake for about 40 minutes or so or until the top is lightly browned.
  5. Check to see if it’s done, and let it cool. Serve it with a lot of ice cream. Because it’s summer, and you have to do that.
  6. Enjoy!

cobbler

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

