Shrimp. Shrimp, shrimp. Shrimpy, shrimpy, shrimp.

Standard

I love shrimp.

Actually, I love seafood and I always have. I was eating lobster when I was 3 years old and slurping up littleneck clams on the half shell when I was 5. My Polish babchi loved smoked fish with cream cheese on crackers and we always had pickled herring in the fridge for my Italian/German stepfather when I was growing up because he enjoyed it the same way.

We would celebrate Christmas Eve with my stepfather’s family and I’d eat mussels, octopus, shrimp, stuffed clams, squid, baccala. This was a celebration and I remember one year where it seemed we just ate and ate for hours.

My grandfather used to eat canned sardine sandwiches with chopped onion on pumpernickel bread and he would only make them for lunch if my grandmother wasn’t around since she hated the smell of onions. But, since I adored my grandfather, I’d eat one, too, because I loved both him and the sandwich.

And because I really got a kick out of pissing my grandmother off when I was 5. We loved each other, but spent the next 25 years trying to figure each other out while pissing each other off at the same time.


Here’s a great, easy, tasty and super simple recipe for shrimp. My recipe is adapted from the original recipe “Greek Shrimp” published in Moosewood Restaurant Cooks At Home. Just make sure you have all of the ingredients ready before you make this.

This might serve 4 if you decide on a appetizer, or it’ll serve 2 good eaters (which we are around here) with leftovers for lunch. Maybe.

Wonderful with whole wheat couscous and salad, since neither of them need cooking when it’s beastly hot outside, and you can make both of them before this is done.

  • 3 Tbsp. of olive oil
  • 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small can of diced tomatoes (14 oz.)
  • 1 lb. of shrimp, defrosted, peeled and deveined
  • About 1 cup of crumbled feta cheese
  • juice of 1 small lemon, to taste
  • 1/4 cup of chopped fresh dill or oregano
  • dash of salt and freshly ground pepper
  1. Heat a large saute pan over medium heat and add the olive oil.
  2. And the garlic and saute until it’s golden.
  3. Add the tomatoes and bring the sauce to a simmer. Give the sauce a good stir, lower the heat and let it simmer for a few minutes.
  4. Add the shrimp and let everything simmer for about 5 minutes. Add the cheese, lemon, herbs and salt and pepper. The shrimp should be done by now.

And, that is it! Serve it over couscous or rice or orzo.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

