Whoosh-h-h-h-h…

Standard

And that, my friends, was the sound of my week going by.

Now, since I want be an exemplary “CP” (“Cancer Patient”), I fulfilled my role of CP on Monday and drove up to Fox Chase to drop off my biopsy results and some other things I had from Penn Dental. I could have just faxed them over, but I wanted to suss the place out; you know, since it’s a cancer hospital and all of that.

And it’s perfectly nice and quiet and set in a park-like location. And it’s a cancer hospital. And everyone was very nice and helpful and they do fabulous things there.

And they have free parking!

But, it’s a cancer hospital.

For now, the shock is over and I’ve accepted the reality. I still have and probably will continue to have moments over the next couple of months where I will be both frightened and amazed to find myself in a setting that involves some sort of test or injection or surgery and scans and who-knows-what-the-hell-else.

And as I see it, I have a couple of weeks to play with until I turn myself over to my medical team at Fox Chase. After the second of September, I’ll be their patient and my life’s going to revolve around my treatment.

I had a great week, I really did. On Wednesday, I spent a day with friends that I don’t see nearly as much as I’d like to. It really wiped me out, but I knew that was going to happen.

No matter…I’m going to enjoy the rest of this month.

And take a lot of naps, too.

4 responses »

    • It is, and I’m doing the best I can. And, there’s nothing wrong with a really good, emotionally cleansing “I-need-a-whole-box-of-tissues-while-my-life-falls-apart-around-me” cry, either. Ask me how I know.

      Like

Leave a Reply

