Committing Neatness

Standard

I am organizing my yarn closet.

Actually, I’m reorganizing the yarn closet, since the first (and second, and possibly third) time around didn’t work out so well. I’m hoping the fourth go-around will be the charm.

I’m like the fifteen year old girl who stands in front of her clothes closet and it’s crammed top to bottom with the inventory of a small department store and screams “I don’t have anything to wear!”

Hello, lover.

Having been that fifteen year old many years ago, I can tell you right now that there is plenty of yarn in there to knit with and quite a bit of it’s the good stuff, too. The problem is that there’s a lot of yarn in there that I bought when I didn’t know what I was buying or what I was going to use it for.

It’s like buying a fabulous pair of shoes that you know, deep down, you’re never going to wear. But, they’re red! They make my ass look great and ooh, lookie here! They’re on sale! I have nothing in my wardrobe that will go with a pair of mock crocodile pumps with 6 inch heels that pinch the pinky toe on my right foot and I don’t think I can really walk in these, and I can’t remember the last time I went out clubbing, but maybe some day I will!

Oy. And Vey.

Oy. And Vey.

See? It’s this kind of thinking that explains why there’s a skein of some Italian ribbon-eyelash concoction in my stash. I’m not in love with pastels, I really don’t use novelty yarn but, hey! It’s really kind of pretty, it’s on sale and I might use it one day. What the hell, get two. Here, take my credit card.

Maybe yarn should have an expiration date where it just goes *poof* on that particular day and is magically replaced with something the knitter will actually use.

Or maybe I just need to get out more often. Maybe I’ll take a drive somewhere.

Anyone want to go yarn shopping?

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

