Alphabet Soup

Standard

“You know, this isn’t yours.”

Those aren’t exactly the words you want to hear while you’re being registered as a new patient anywhere, let alone a cancer hospital. But, Penn Dental did, indeed, give me the wrong CT results CD; that can only mean somewhere, out there, is a perfectly healthy person being told they have cancer.

To whoever that might be, I’m very, very sorry.

However, that was the only snafu in a pretty lengthy orientation visit, the first of many to Fox Chase in the Burholme section of Philadelphia.

I met my ENT surgeon, his fellow, my nurse navigator, 2 RNs, my radiology oncologist and his resident. My ENT is the departmental chief and my RO is equally as impressive. I’m definitely in great hands.

But before any of this can get started, there’s a lot to be done. CAT scans, PET scans, oral surgery. And the quicker all of this happens, the sooner I’ll have surgery.

cat scan cartoon

Because there will be surgery and probably radiation. Head and neck cancer patients don’t receive chemotherapy, so I’ll get to keep my hair.

Kidding, just kidding. Radiation isn’t a walk in the park, either. None of this is.

But that’s a few months away and I’ll have some time to wrap my head around all of this, even as things get started. I have a CAT scan scheduled for next week and then I get to see my ENT a few days after that to go over the results. Then we can start putting my treatment plan together.

In the meantime, I have to get medical records sent, faxed, emailed or flown up there by carrier pigeon. I need to see the oral surgeon and figure out what we’re going to do and when it might happen. It doesn’t look like, in the words of my ENT, it’s “galloping away”, but the sooner we get this party started, the better.

Did I mention my ENT is chief of the department?

I got The Boss. I love it when that happens.

So, off to tackle the to-do list. I really don’t want the boss to yell at me.

 

4 responses »

  1. First off, yikes. I assume they did locate the correct CT results. Second, hooray for getting The Boss. That’s a great thing and in theory will ensure that you get really really REALLY good care. And third: all things considered, radiation isn’t that bad (I’ve done chemo twice and radiation once. Chemo is no fun, but I likened radiation to going into a tanning bed and getting one specific region more than others. Also, hopefully the surgery will be a piece of cake and minimally invasive/disruptive. As always, I am beyond confident that you will get through this with flying colors. OH, and I did not forget the recipe for the chess pie; it’s on my desktop at home and will send it your way this evening — PROMISE. Many hugs, honey!

    Like

    • I’m getting another CAT scan done next week, so I’ll just shred the existing CD, whoever it belongs to. As for radiation, perhaps I can do my best Kanye impersonation while I’m wearing my mask. 😉

      Like

  2. I’m glad you have The Boss making sure everything goes smoothly and okay. That cartoon is really funny. It definitely made me smile. Best of luck with things to come, lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

