Time Out Of Mind

Standard

I don’t know what happened this week.

One minute I was tweeting on and on (and on and on and on) about how long I was waiting for my appointments at Fox Chase on Tuesday and the next thing I know it’s Friday afternoon. Apparently I missed the entry in the “Cancer Patients’ Handbook” that says being sick is a full-time job.

And that time definitely does fly when you’re not necessarily having fun, too.

In keeping with that theme, here’s a quick recipe for whole wheat rolls. They’re from “The Dairy Hollow House Cookbook” which I ordered from Powell’s a few years back.

I need to go and catch my breath. See you next week.


Dairy Hollow House Dinner RollsYum.

  • 1 Tbsp. active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup unbleached white flour
  • ¼ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. cider vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp. oil (I use sunflower)

 

  1. Dissolve the yeast in the honey and the water.
  2. Whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. Add half of the flour mixture to the water mixture. Stir in the vinegar and oil. Add the rest of the flour mixture.
  4. Knead for about 5 minutes or until it’s smooth and glossy. Place in a buttered bowl, cover and let rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour or so.
  5. Preheat the oven to 425°
  6. Punch dough down and form into rolls. Place them on an ungreased non-stick baking sheet. Cover and let rise again, about 20 minutes or so.
  7. Bake for about 15 or 20 minutes. Cool and devour.
  8. Enjoy!
2 responses »

  1. Ya know, Dee…I think this is ONE recipe that I actually have all the ingredients on hand to make….that never happens! Wonder, though, if I can substitute agave for the honey?

    Like

Leave a Reply

