Knock It Out of the Park

Standard

So, today’s a weird landmark of sorts.

I’m officially two weeks into my treatment and exactly one month from completing it.

Now there’s a sentence I thought I’d never write.

I wanna be just like you.

I wanna be just like you.

And, it’s…okay. I’m starting to feel some of the side effects, but for the most part…okay. So far, so good and all of that. Right now, it’s nothing I can’t handle and for the few things I can’t deal with, well, that’s why the meds are in the medicine cabinet. Eating is a bit of a hassle, so it’s a good thing I like yogurt and soup. There’s a lot of both coming my way in the next couple of weeks.

There will be lots of naps, too. And cat therapy with the wondercat Frogger, who seems to really understand that MomCat isn’t exactly well these days.

And knitting, of course. Easy things, but there’s always something on the needles. Since there’s no rush to finish anything, it will get done when it gets done. It’s silly to push it when it’s supposed to be giving me some measure of quietude, isn’t it? It’s counterintuitive to do otherwise.

What I do need to concentrate on right now is getting better. Or, as my doctor said when we were discussing my post-surgical treatment, “You’d have to work very hard to do better than you’re doing now, but you need to have a complete game here.”

I’d better go get some rest. I still have a couple of innings to go.

Leave a Reply

