Spring Awakening

Standard

I’m planning spring knitting.

I know, I know. It’s December! It’s cold! It’s the time of year to snuggle up in your sweats and cozy fleece tops and knit big, thick warm sweaters because it’s the only time of the year you can do that without passing out from the weight and the warmth of the wool. It really shouldn’t be the time of the year to start lusting after light and pretty things. Winter only started 10 days ago.

But I am. The last pair of cozy, warm house socks have officially come off the needles and I’m about ready to put the heavier yarns back into the yarn closet (what?) for another couple of months. When I got my diagnosis back in July, all I wanted to do was knit my way out of whatever funk I was in at the time, and there were more than one. My comfort knitting tends to be on the heavier side; it’s all soft and cozy and warm. It’s the fiber nerd’s equivalent of mac and cheese or mashed potatoes and gravy.

I feel pretty, oh so pretty...

I feel pretty, oh so pretty…

And now that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, I can feel a lightening of the load, too.  It’s only a little bit, but things don’t seem as weighty as they did a month ago. I got through the holidays in one piece. The cards got mailed, gifts were bought and exchanged. I didn’t get to see everyone that I wanted to, but that’s okay. Our family and friends are all pretty close to where we live, so there’s no need to wait until next Christmas to see them. Why can’t we celebrate in April instead?

It’s time to break out all the lighter, beautifully colored yarns and make spring things. My last day of treatment is three weeks from today and I’m ready to throw a party.

Leave a Reply

