Rocks Your Socks Off, Woman

Standard

One of the reasons I wanted to learn how to knit is all down to a pair of knitted socks I saw in a magazine about 10 years ago. I can’t remember if they had cables running up and down them or if they were striped or if they were knitted out of cashmere. The only detail that remains in my memory is that they were hand knitted socks, they were cool and I wanted to learn how to make them because I wanted to be the cool, crafty chick who knitted socks.

Fast forward a bunch of years and I’ve done more than a couple of pairs. I’ve knitted socks with cables and I’ve made striped ones and I’ve got cashmere sock yarn, which is like crack for sock knitters. I’ve got individual sock patterns and whole books of nothing but sock patterns. I’ve got sock yarn coming out the wazoo. There’s little knitting needles for knitting socks with thin yarn and bigger needles for thicker yarn. I’ve got all kinds of little sock knitting notions to help me out when I’m knitting socks, which seems to be all the time these days.

See?

See?

I’m just a little obsessed.

Like many other things in life, the more you do something, the better you get at it. And if you’re anything like me, you want things that are more challenging. Time to step it up a bit and move up to the big leagues. You know, knit like a big girl.

Meet Eunice.

Eunice entered my life as a sock pattern in a book full of lots of complicated, complex things when I was a novice knitter and didn’t really know what I was doing. So I looked at it, drooled a little bit, sighed a lot, tried the pattern, cursed and threw things, slammed the book shut and went back to making something a whole lot easier.

One stitch at a time, baby.

One stitch at a time, baby.

I did this for ages, but not this time. And I’m making progress. And hey, no bad language.

Well, not yet, anyway. There’s still a lot of sock left to knit.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

