“He Grew A Big Zucchini For The Local Flower Show”

Standard

It’s cold, so I’ve been spending the week inside, cooking and knitting, all nice and snug and warm in my sweats and handknit wool socks.

I haven’t been outside since last Saturday and I see no reason to go anywhere when it’s like this. There’s nothing I need from the supermarket, I don’t have any doctor’s appointments, there’s no way you’re getting me to Planet Fitness and goddess knows I don’t need any more yarn.

So I made a big pot of winter squash and bean soup (I’ll post the recipe next week) and while I was poking around in the fridge, found the two zucchini I thought I forgot to buy.

Because you just can’t have soup,  you see. Well, I can’t, anyway. I need a sandwich or a big piece of chewy, multi-grain bread or a salad or…something. Even if it’s a hearty soup, I need something else before I can call it “dinner”.

Mmm...

Mmm…

Soup, just by itself, naked, is called “lunch”, you know.

This recipe for zucchini pie comes from a book I know I’ve mentioned before, “The New England Cookbook“. It’s one of those things that can be an appetizer or lunch or a snack or just the thing you need to have with a bowl of winter squash and bean soup.


Zucchini Pie

  • 2 ½ cups very thinly sliced zucchini
  • About 1 Tbsp coarse salt
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • ¾ cup chopped onion (I use scallions since I prefer the taste)
  • 2 eggs
  • ⅓ cup of milk
  • ¾ cup of Bisquick (yep!)
  • ½ cup of shredded cheese (the recipe calls for mozzarella, but any good cheese is fine)
  • 3 Tbsp. grated Parm
  • 1 Tbsp minced flat-leaf parsley
  • 2 tsp. oregano
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • ½ cup chopped seeded plum tomatoes, optional

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°. Spray or lightly oil a 9-inch baking dish or pie plate
  2. Place the sliced zucchini in a colander and sprinkle with the coarse salt. Let stand for 15 minutes while preparing the other ingredients.
  3. Heat the oil in the skillet. Add the onion and cook until slightly browned and soft, about 8 minutes or so.
  4. In a large mixing bowl, lightly beat the eggs with the milk. Add the Bisquick and whisk until just smooth. Stir in the sauteed onions, cheeses, parsley, oregano, salt and pepper.
  5. Rinse the zuke slices, spread out on a double thickness of paper towels and pat dry. Stir them into the batter and transfer the batter into the prepared pan.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes or so, until the top if fleck with brown and it tests done near the center. If you’re using the tomatoes, scatter them over the top after the first 15 minutes of baking. Don’t overbake this.
  7. Let it cool and serve warm or at room temperature. I actually like it cold, out of the fridge, with some salsa, but that’s just me.
  8. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

