“Brother Bought A Coconut, He Bought It For A Dime”

Standard

I have officially lost my mind and I don’t know what happened.

I bought more sock yarn. Not only did I do that, but I’m getting three more sock knitting books. And I’m off to my favorite yarn store in the world next week to get more.

But that’s okay. Really. I gave up smoking a few years ago and I don’t really drink any longer, so good yarn is my drug of choice these days. With everything I’ve been through in the past eight months, I figure I’m allowed to buy as much damn yarn as I please.

Plus, I turned 50 last week. I’m not sure how the hell that happened either, but it did and, like my sock yarn obsession, I’m giving myself a pass on that one, too.

It wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to say that I’m being very, very good to myself these days. Besides, it’s fun to knit yourself pretty things. *


So, on Ravelry over the weekend, I posted on the “Fifty And Fabulous” forum that I’d made some coconut tapioca.

Now, stop that. Right now. Tapioca is awesome and it’s especially awesome when your mouth is still a bit sore from six weeks of radiation treatment. And it’s even better if it’s made with coconut milk. Yum.

The only thing I changed from the recipe (which is from Moosewood Restaurant Collective’s “New Classics”, one of my most favorite cookbooks ever) was to swap out regular milk for the vanilla soymilk and add a teaspoon of real vanilla extract.

The original recipe also suggests serving this with fresh mango cubes and sliced strawberries which would have been great if I had a fresh mango and strawberries. If you have it, go for it.

Yum.

Tropical Tapioca

  • ½ cup of instant tapioca
  • 3 cups of milk
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 14-oz. can reduced fat coconut milk
  • pinch of ground cinnamon
  1. Combine everything except the vanilla extract in a heavy bottomed saucepan. Give it a stir and let it sit for about 15 minutes or so. This gives the tapioca a chance to soften up before you even cook it.
  2. On medium heat, bring the tapioca mixture to a boil, stirring constantly to prevent lumps and sticking. Lower the heat and, still stirring, let it cook slowly for 5 minutes.
  3. Take it off the heat and stir in the vanilla. Let it cool for about 5 minutes or so.
  4. Pour into individual dessert cups or a large heatproof container and let it chill in the fridge for about an hour or so.
  5. Enjoy!

* WordPress isn’t playing nicely with my pictures this afternoon or I’d post the latest picture of Eunice. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

