Red Hot Chili Peppers

Standard

I may have overdone it.

I might, just might, have thought I was a little further along than I was, a bit stronger and just a touch tougher than I have been. It sounded good, it smelled delicious and the next thing I knew I was slurping those mussels and clams in the Victory Ale and garlic and hot pepper sauce down like there was no tomorrow, and goddess, it was good. There was no stopping me.

Ha! And then the Victory Ale and garlic and hot pepper sauce kicked in and my poor, tender, still-recovering-from-radiation-treatment mouth couldn’t take it any longer. I slurped down 2 raspberry iced teas, ate the ice and almost gnawed off half of the table.

So in my infinite wisdom, I had a piece of my boyfriend’s Bavarian pretzel snack, which was covered in crab dip and crabmeat.

And Old Bay seasoning, too.

Hot-cha-cha.

I’m quickly forgetting that even though I’m two months’ removed from my cancer treatment, I still have the tender mouth of a two-year old and therefore, I have to adapt to the eating habits of a two-year old. Nothing spicy! Nothing garlicky! Easy on the pepper! Wait, no pepper!

So, it’s back to things that are easy to eat for a few more days. A couple more glasses of milkshakes made from instant breakfast powder and ice cream isn’t going to kill me. I like macaroni and cheese. And eggs. And soup.

Soup prepI made this soup yesterday because I wanted a bowl of noodles. Something hot, slurp-worthy, comforting and not swimming in cream or cheese for a change. I stopped at the store for a bag of old-fashioned thin egg noodles, diced up the usual soup veggies, and added them to a pot of simmering broth, which was made from a couple of cubes. Later on I put in some little defrosted frozen peas, shredded spinach and a cup of those noodles. A bit of salt, a touch of pepper, chopped parsley. That’s all, and it’s delicious.


Simple Veggie Noodle Soup 

  • 6 cups of broth (I used Rapunzel’s, which I get at my local natural food store)
  • 4-5 small carrots, trimmed, peeled and diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, ends trimmed and diced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 small bay leaf
  • 1 cup of baby frozen peas (sometimes they’re called petit pois), defrosted
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • a bit of freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup of fine egg noodles
  • 2 good handfuls of fresh spinach, washed and sliced thin
  1. Bring the broth to a simmer. Add the carrots, celery, onion and bay leaf. Lower the heat, cover and simmer until the veggies are just about done, 15 minutes or so.
  2. Remove the cover and add the peas; cook for 5 minutes.
  3. Bring the soup back to a simmer and stir in the egg noodles. Cook just until the noodles are done, about 5 minutes. Add the spinach, give it a good stir. Turn off the heat and put the lid back on (the residual heat will cook the spinach). Check for seasoning.
  4. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

