“Up Jumped Spring”

Standard

It must be spring.

The daffodils are poking up in the front garden, I’m clearing out my yarn basket and the college basketball tourney’s on the TV.

And with Sir Charles Barkley it gets one hundred percent better right there. Who cares if it snows tomorrow?

Yes, they do say what you think they say.

Yes, they do say what you think they say.

I finished up a couple of winter projects and I’m doing a bit of spring cleaning to make room for the new projects. There’s a sweater and an afghan and a store sample for Hidden River Yarns promoting the market bag crochet class I’ll be teaching there in May.

And socks. As long as I have luscious sock yarn, there will be socks.Tammy socks done

It feels good to get all tidied up and organized again, even though I know it’s all going to go to hell in a few days. I start out strong and then I pull everything out again like a five year old. Hell, I’m sure five year olds have a longer attention span than I do on some days.

It’s great to have the energy to do all of this, too. A month ago I probably would have looked at the yarn basket and said, “Nope. Not today. That can wait.” But now that I’m two months’ removed from all the treatment, I can finally say “yes” to some bigger things that I want to get done.

But “easy does it”. I’m not trying to conquer the world; just get back into the swing of things. The sweater is a simply constructed cardigan knitted in just one color. No colorwork or lace or anything too elaborate. The afghan is lots and lots and lots of bobbles in a deep shade of burgundy that is incredibly soothing to crochet. Even the sock patterns I’ve been looking at are simple. Elegant, but simple. It’s a good marriage.

And as long as I keep it simple, I’ll be just fine.


 

asianfish1 (1)This is about as simple as cooking gets, too. There’s nothing really complicated in here, just some great Asian flavors made with ingredients you can get at the local supermarket. The original recipe comes from Moosewood’s “Cooks At Home”, but since I can’t seem to leave well enough alone, I’ve tweaked it a bit to make it even easier. The original recipe called for making individual foil packets for everyone; I put it into a big baking dish instead. I added lots more veggies and a hit of chili garlic sauce, too. asianfish3 (1)

We usually have this with jasmine rice and shrimp spring rolls from the supermarket, but since I’m having issues with rice, it’ll be Asian egg noodles instead. There will be lots of slurping.


Asian Fish

  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • 1 ½ tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 heaping tsp. of fresh grated ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp. of chili garlic sauce or a shot or sriracha
  • a little bit of freshly ground white pepper
  • 1 pound of fresh fish (cod, tilapia, salmon, anything firm. I’d stay away from flounder or fluke)
  • 1 bunch of bok choy (or 4 baby ones), trimmed and sliced into 2” pieces
  • 8 oz. mushrooms, slices (baby bellas are great in this)
  1. Preheat the oven to 450°*. Lightly oil a 13”x9” casserole dish.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together the scallions, vegetable oil, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, chili garlic sauce and white pepper. Set aside.
  3. Place the veggies in an even layer into the casserole. Lay the fish on top.
  4. Pour the sauce evenly over the fish. Cover it tightly with foil.
  5. Let it bake for about 20 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!
*Since we usually have spring rolls with it and they bake at a different temperature (I think it’s 375°), I put the fish in at that temperature. It bakes fine; it just takes a little longer.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

