“C Is For Cookie And That’s Good Enough For Me”

Standard

Every once in awhile, I get obsessed with something.

It might be a particular kind of yarn (no surprise there, I’m sure), the perfect crocheted afghan pattern (which I’ve finally found) or an old cookbook I remember from the 1980’s. And I have to be careful since I’ve got the kind of personality that doesn’t let go of things like this easily. I know all too well what happens; I fall down into the rabbit hole of the Intertubes, never to been seen or heard from again.

This time it was a cookie. A chocolate chip cookie to be exact, and it was a recipe that my mom made for Christmas when I was in the fifth or sixth grade. They weren’t the typical, thin, crisp cookie, either. These were thicker, a little lumpy looking, and she used the mini-chocolate chips instead of the usual Nestle suspects. She stored them in those old-fashioned cookie tins and they were hidden in the coat closet in the basement. Of course I found them when I was poking around looking for my gifts.

I hope she’s not reading this.

Anyway, they were delicious. They weren’t Toll House cookies, they was something a little different going on there. To this day, I don’t know what recipe she used and every time I see a recipe for chocolate chip cookies I’m absolutely compelled to see if it might, just might, be The One I’ve been looking for. I still haven’t found it, but you can be sure I’m still searching for them.

cookies

Nom nom nom.

In the meantime though, I made these a few weekends ago. This is one of those recipes that I’d been looking at for years, always saying, “You know, I have to make these.” There is a lot going on here that’s different. There’s whole wheat pastry flour along with regular white flour and dark brown sugar instead of the usual mix of white and light brown. And they’re not thin and crisp; they’re thick and hefty and a little bit chewy. If you like a soft-baked cookie, you’ll go nuts over these.


 

Big  Chocolate Chip  Cookies 

 

  • ¾ cup of unsalted butter, at room temperature (I used Earth Balance)
  • 1 ½ cups dark brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups unbleached white flour
  • ¾ cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsps pure vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (I used chocolate chunks)
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts and/or raisins (I didn’t)
  1. Preheat the oven to 375°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until smooth. Beat in the eggs until well blended.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda and salt.
  4. Stir in the flour into the butter mixture, mixing well. Add the vanilla and the water and stir in the chocolate chips.
  5. Add the nuts and raisins if you’re using.
  6. Drop the batter by ¼ cup measures onto the baking sheet (this will make 3” cookies), leaving about 2” in between each.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes, but check them around 8 minutes in. When they’re done, let them cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes, then put them on a cooling rack to finish.
  8. Enjoy! These are really, really good.
9 responses »

      • I have, and I haven’t seen it. It’s been about 30 years since I made the Afghan and my sister-in-law had given me a copy of the pattern, so I didn’t have much information. Of course she doesn’t have it anymore either. I’LL watch for your post!

        Like

      • I lied! I realized I hadn’t looked for it since 201 when I made an afghan for my daughter to take to college. Did a search on she’ll and very stitch afghan and there it was! The V Stitch Sell afghan by Leisure Arts published in January of 1984. Uploaded to Ravelry in April of 2013. I’m so excited!!! If you hadn’t posted, I never would have looked…thanks!

        Like

      • Wow, wrote that response on my kindle and didn’t realize how butchered it became after I corrected it! I searched in 2012 and it’s a V stitch and shell afghan. Here is a link: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/v-stitch-shell-2 It was a simple afghan to make and I made it for my husband shortly after we were married. I’d love to make him one out of something that doesn’t squeak now that we can afford a little better! Any suggestions on a good wool yarn that won’t felt and is good for afghans? Another question…where do you yarn shop in Philly? I’m in South Jersey and like Woolbearers in Mt. Holly. I’ve only been to Loop once and it was years ago. Thanks!

        Like

      • Oh, I like that! Sometimes simple is best. Let’s see…yarn. I’m using Berocco Vintage worsted for the throw I’m crocheting for the living room couch and I really like it. It’s nice and soft and the colors are terrific. I haven’t washed and dried a swatch yet, but I will. For yarn shopping, I’m a Hidden River Yarns girl. It’s in Manayunk and Lisa’s got a great little shop. It’s a nice casual place and she’s a piss. Full disclosure: I’m Lisa’s crochet instructor!

        Like

Leave a Reply

